Follow us on socials.
Click the icons below!
Follow us on socials.
Click the icons below!
Recently many PayPal users are looking for how to delete PayPal account. The reason why people are closing off their accounts is because of a (now abandoned) seemingly planned acceptable use policy (AUP) change. The policy change stated that – PayPal will fine users $2,500 for spreading misinformation.
Right after this policy change was came to the light, people were furious and decided to leave PayPal for good. “BoycottPayPal” was trending on Twitter this weekend and people are looking to delete their PayPal accounts permanently.
David Marcus, the former president of PayPal, tweeted that the new policy change goes against everything he believes in. He further stated in his tweet that “A private company now gets to decide to take your money if you say something they disagree with”. Calling this policy, insanity. Elon Musk also commented on that tweet that he agrees with David.
In this post, we are going to show you how you can delete your PayPal account permanently. So, let’s get started.
Table of Contents
Before we actually get to the deleting process, let’s discuss what to do before you delete your PayPal account. We will also discuss what happens after you close your PayPal account.
So before deleting, obviously you have to withdraw all of your money from your PayPal account so that you don’t lose any funds. You will also lose any unpaid requests for money as well as coupons and codes from PayPal.
Note that you won’t be able to access or use a PayPal Smart Connect account. PayPal Smart Connect is the company’s in-house line of credit. So after you delete your account you cannot use it.
If you can’t delete your PayPal account or having trouble deleting your PayPal account, then there might be some unresolved issues. PayPal notifies you, if you have any problem with your balance. Sometimes, PayPal puts limitations on your account if they detect any suspicious activities. If that happens, then you can’t delete or close your PayPal account.
Generally, there are a few reasons why PayPal puts limitations on a user’s account:
When a user faces one of the above mentioned issues, PayPal puts a limitation on that account. After that, the user of that account cannot delete their account until the issue is resolved.
Once again, before you remove your account, make sure to withdraw all your money from your PayPal account. Because you won’t be able to access your PayPal account anymore.
If you want to use a different platform, or just simply don’t want to continue with PayPal anymore, then follow the given steps:
If you want to delete your PayPal account from desktop, follow these steps:
And with that your PayPal account will be terminated.
If you want to delete your PayPal account from the PayPal app on your phone, follow these steps:
Then you can uninstall the app if you want. That is how you can delete your PayPal account permanently.
The “BoycottPayPal” movement begin right after PayPal made a new adjustment to their acceptable user policy (AUP). This policy was planned to take effect from November 3rd. The policy was, “the sending, posting, or publication of any messages, content, or materials” that “promote misinformation” or “present a risk to user safety or wellbeing” as stated by Mediaite. Anyone who violates this policy will be fined $2,500. Which will be directly taken out of their accounts by PayPal.
Some of the users also came into PayPal’s defense saying that PayPal also tweeted, “It was a mistake”. A spokesman of PayPal also said that PayPal is not fining people and the language was never meant to be added in the acceptable user policy (AUP). He further said that the policy was posted in error.
But the damage has already been done. Some users said that PayPal was ready to take $2,500 from their account and they are now calling it an error because they were caught. Again, what is considered “misinformation” will be decided by the company itself. Because of this reason a large number of PayPal users have deleted their account and many are in the process of deleting theirs too.
If you’re wondering if you can recover your closed PayPal account after you delete it, then the answer is “no, you can’t”. According to PayPal, you can then open a new account. But the account that you deleted is lost forever. Your new account will not have the old transaction history or any coupon codes, etc.
So if you’re looking to delete your PayPal account for good, make sure that you don’t have anything important in there.
Deleting a PayPal account is really an easy and takes only 2 minutes or so. But before you delete make sure to withdraw all your cash from your account. Because once you delete your PayPal account, you won’t have access to anything and you cannot recover this account in any way. You can, however, open a new account but it won’t have any of your previous transaction history.
Although PayPal is saying that this new policy was posted as an error and they never meant to fine people, many users are furious. This truly is a dark time for PayPal as the company’s shares have lost more than half of their values this year. After this incident, their stock is down by 6% on Monday. Things are looking more and more grim for the company.
Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links and we may receive a small commission if you purchase something by following them. However, we recommend services/products that we believe good to serve your purpose.